MOTION:

SECOND:

RE: CONCURRENCE WITH THE CITY OF FREDERICKSBURG'S VIRGINIA RAILWAY

EXPRESS OPERATIONS BOARD APPOINTMENTS

WHEREAS, the City of Fredericksburg desires to appoint Council Members Matthew Kelly and Jason Graham as Potomac and Rappahannock Transportation Commission (PRTC) Board of Commissioners member and alternate member, respectively; and

WHEREAS, the City of Fredericksburg also desires to appoint Council Members Matthew Kelly and Jason Graham as a Virginia Railway Express (VRE) Operations Board member and alternate member, respectively, and will not meet to make this appointment until July 14, 2020; and

WHEREAS, the PRTC Bylaws require PRTC to concur with member jurisdictions' appointments to the VRE Operations Board; and

WHEREAS, membership by jurisdiction on the VRE Operations Board, in accordance with the provisions of the VRE Master Agreement, will consist of three (3) elected officials representing Prince William County, two (2) representing Stafford County, one (1) representing Spotsylvania County, one (1) each representing the cities of Fredericksburg, Manassas, and Manassas Park and a comparable number of alternate members, who must also be elected officials; and

WHEREAS, the PRTC Board of Commissioners representatives to the VRE Operations Board now include:

<u>Members</u>	<u>Alternates</u>
Prince William County	
Andrea Bailey Margaret Franklin Jeanine Lawson	Victor Angry Pete Candland Ann Wheeler
Stafford County Meg Bohmke Cindy Shelton	Gary Snellings
<u>City of Fredericksburg</u> Matthew Kelly	Jason Graham
<u>City of Manassas</u> Ralph Smith	Pamela Sebesky

City of Manassas Park

Preston Banks Hector Cendejas

Spotsylvania County

Gary Skinner Deborah Frazier

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Potomac and Rappahannock Transportation Commission does hereby concur with the City of Fredericksburg's appointment of Council Members Matthew Kelly and Jason Graham to the VRE Operations Board as a member and alternate member, respectively; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this appointment is contingent upon the City of Fredericksburg providing PRTC a certified resolution re-appointing Council Members Matthew Kelly and Jason Graham as a Commission member and alternate Commission member no later than July 16, 2020; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that if the certified resolution is not provided to PRTC by July 16, 2020 the appointments of Council Members Matthew Kelly and Jason Graham to the VRE Operations Board will expire at 5:00 p.m. on July 16, 2020, otherwise it will continue as provided by law.

Votes:
Ayes:
Abstain:
Nays:
Absent from Vote:
Alternate Present Not Voting:
Absent from Meeting: